We work with scientists, researchers, and students from around the world to ensure our programs’ success.

Management Entity

We are based in Blacksburg, Virginia, at Virginia Tech and housed in the Office of International Research, Education, and Development.
Address: 526 Prices Fork Rd. (0378) | Virginia Tech | Blacksburg, VA | 24061-0378
Phone: 540-231-3516 | Fax: 540-231-3519 | Email:
Twitter: @IPM_IL | Facebook: IPMCRSP



Muni Muniappan

Director, IPM Innovation Lab
Virginia Tech

Phone: (540) 231-3516 


Van Crowder

Administrative Principal Investigator, Executive Director, OIRED
Virginia Tech

Phone: (540) 231-9665


Amer Fayad

Associate Director and Africa Program Manager, IPM Innovation Lab
Virginia Tech

Phone: (540) 231-966


Jaspreet Sidhu

Research Associate, IPM Innovation Lab
Virginia Tech

Phone: (540) 231-3513


Zara Shortt

Financial Coordinator, IPM Innovation Lab
Virginia Tech

Phone: (540) 231-3513


Daniel Sumner

Assistant Director of Women and Gender in International Development, OIRED
Virginia Tech

Phone: (540) 231-4297


E.A. “Short” Heinrichs

Asia Program Manager
University of Nebraska

Phone: (402) 472-6011


Principal Investigators

Wondi Mersie

Principal Investigator,
Biological Control of the Invasive Weed Parthenium hysterophorus in East Africa

Virginia State University

Phone: (804) 524-5631


Nir Krakauer

Principal Investigator
Modeling for Biodiversity and Climate Change

Phone: (212) 650-8003


George Norton

Principal Investigator, Vegetable IPM for Asia

Phone: (540) 231-7731


Nguyen, Van Hoa

Principal Investigator, IPM for Exportable Fruit Crops in Vietnam 

Phone: (+84) 918-582261


John Cardina

Principal Investigator, Vegetable Crops IPM for East Africa

Phone: (330) 263-3644 


Buyung Hadi

Principal Investigator, Rice IPM for Cambodia

Phone: (+63) 2-5805600

Abhijin Adiga

Principal Investigator, High-Resolution Monitoring of the Spread of Agricultural Invasive Species

Virginia Tech Biocomplexity Institute

Phone: (540) 204-6679



Tadele Tefera

Principal Investigator, IPM for Rice, Maize, and Chickpea in East Africa

International Centre of Insect Physiology and Ecology

Phone: (+251) 1-463215 


Technical Advisory Committee

Lawrence Datnoff

Chair of the Technical Advisory Committee

Louisiana State University

Phone: 225-578-1464


Glen Hartman

Member of the Technical Advisory Committee

Srinivasan Ramasamy

Member of the Technical Advisory Committee

Shoki Al-Dobai

Member of the Technical Advisory Committee

Dely Gapasin

Member of the Technical Advisory Committee

USAID Agreement Officer’s Representative

John Bowman

Senior International Affairs Specialist, USAID Bureau for Food Security